top of page
  • Writer's pictureSama Augla

Interview with Sara Manness

Updated: Feb 27

On campus, Sara is known as a dedicated student and a talented athlete. Recently, she competed in the Ice Hockey U18 Women’s World Championship. We’re very proud of her here at Blyth Academy and have asked her to answer some questions about her experience. Here is our exclusive interview.



How long have you been playing hockey and what made you decide to compete internationally?


I have been playing hockey for around ten years now and I have always wanted to compete at the highest level possible (internationally), for as long as I can remember. As soon as I knew I could possibly make that dream come true, It’s always been in the back of my mind every time I play.



As the youngest player on Team Canada, what were some sources of stress you encountered and how did you cope with the pressure?


Thankfully, I never thought too much about being the youngest player on the team, but sometimes it was a bit intimidating being with other elite girls all on one team. I sometimes struggled with feeling whether I belonged, especially when things weren’t going great. I dealt with that pressure by thinking back to the idea that I was selected for a reason, and earned my spot to be here. Once I stopped overthinking little things and distractions, I had a lot of fun and made the most of every moment and opportunity.



How do you manage to balance your athletic and academic responsibilities?


Balancing my athletic and academic responsibilities has always been important to me, as I take both very seriously. I like to make sure I'm staying on top of my school work as much as possible, even though it can be very tricky in some situations (like at the world championship). Thankfully, I have an amazing twin sister Kate who always helps me when I’m behind or don’t understand something, in addition to having great and adaptable teachers!



Is there a coach or athlete that you look up to as a role model and why?


There are so many people I look up to and have learned from, or else I definitely wouldn’t be where I am today. But the person who inspires me everyday is my twin sister Kate, who I look up to in every way. Not only does she work harder than everyone in anything she’s doing, but she pushes and encourages me to be better and knows what I am capable of. I could never imagine where I would be without her, and without playing on the same team with her all these years later.



What is the best piece of advice you've gained from your coaches?


This is a tough one for me, because I’m so rich of great advice from coaches. I think the best advice I’ve ever been given is how important it is to make mistakes, to try things, and to experience failure. It’s something I have struggled with a lot, especially becoming older and more mature. You have to learn to adapt and grow after failure because it becomes  part of your success in the journey of whatever you do in life. I am still afraid to take risks and fail sometimes, and that is something I need to work on tremendously in the next steps of my journey.



What do you see yourself accomplishing in the next 5-10 years?


In the next 5-10 years, I see myself playing hockey at a division 1 college program while also earning a valuable degree. I will hopefully continue with my dream to play hockey at the international level. I really see myself enjoying every second of life, even the bad parts, and making the most of every opportunity. I hope to be studying in an area of interest, preferably something in sports media and communication, and succeeding academically as well!


From TSN:



37 views0 comments
bottom of page